Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


M.Sc. Meteorology

The Master of Science in Meteorology is aimed at deepening knowledge in atmospheric physics and the application of its methods. A wide choice of elective courses is offered specializing in research topics of the Meteorological Institute Munich and the Institute of Atmospheric Physics of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) at Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich.

A start of the Master Meteorology is possible in winter semester (October-February) or summer semester (April-July) each year. Master admission is handled by the Faculty of Physics (details here) and the LMU International Office (if your are non-EU applicant, details here). At the moment enrollment has to be started with both organisations in parallel: The International Office handles the university enrollment (Immatrikulation); the Faculty of Physics handles the subject specific assessment procedure for the courses offered. Deadlines for application with International Office and with the Faculty of Physics are January 15 (for summer) and July 15 (for winter).

For all who begin their master studies at or after winter semester 2023/2024 new study regulations (German "Studienordnung") apply. Changes are mainly of technical nature (electronic credit records, attribution of lectures to specific modules). Throughout the course of studies at LMU the study regulations apply which were valid at the beginning of your studies.

Course of studies

120 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) points are  required to obtain a master certificate. Lectures contribute 60 ECTS points (=40 working hours a week), usually within the first year. The master thesis contributes another 60 ECTS points.

Lectures in Detail

Mandatory lectures are offered in winter semester each year. For the elective lectures in areas A and B smaller changes are possible from year to year (folloowing status 2023, winter semester = WiSe, summer semester = SoSe).

Mandatory lectures (both only WiSe, 9 ECTS each)

  • Advanced Dynamics of the Atmosphere
  • Advanced Physics of the Atmosphere

Optional lectures A (almost all SoSe, 6 ECTS each)

  • Data Assimilation with tutorials
  • Cloud Physics with tutorials
  • Advanced Remote Sensing and Digital Image Processing Techniques
  • Statistical data analyses in the atmospheric and climate sciences
  • Advanced Atmospheric Dynamics 2
  • Numerical Weather Prediction with tutorials
  • Climate dynamics, climate modeling, climate change

Small optional lectures B (WiSe and SoSe)

  • Climate change processes in the stratosphere
  • The Middle Atmosphere in the Climate System
  • Boundary Layer Meteorology
  • Atmospheric Aerosol
  • Physical parameterizations in atmospheric models
  • Meteorological Satellites
  • Atmospheric Chemistry and Global Change
  • Mountain Meteorological Field Course
  • Block course "Monte Carlo Radiative Transfer"
  • Variability of the ozone layer
  • Aviation and Climate
  • Natural Disasters - Biometeorology
  • Active Remote Sensing (Lidar, Radar)

Other courses

In addition to the lectures one Meteorlogical Seminar on a current topic and a key qualitfications module has to be chosen (3 ECTS each).

LSF - Lehre, Studium, Forschung - Teaching, Studies, Research

LSF is the official university platform through which you can get information on all fields taught at LMU. You will find full course catalogues there, details on all lectures. You can search for rooms and persons. Here you will register for courses and exams.

Attribution of lectures to modules (study regulations valid until studies' start SoSe 2023)

All elective lectures (areas A+B) are part of all modules P4, P5, P6, P7 which can be found in the official "Studienordnung" (study regulations).

Attribution of lectures to modules (study regulations valid after studies' start SoSe 2023)

Apart from the introduction of completely electronic record of credits through LSF, the modules in the study regulations have been defined in a more specific way and a clearer guidance has been set for the distribution of study efforts onto larger 6-ECTS and smaller 3-ECTS elective lectures. The attribution of lectures to modules has to be completed by all students during registration for the exams at latest. This way a useful coverage of the field with your academic achievements is guaranteed. Each elective lecture can be attributed to several elective modules in order to ensure high flexibility regarding all students' course of studies.

At least three of the 6 ECTS elective lectures have to be attributed to the following 6 ECTS elective modules  ...

  • WP9 - Atmospheric Modeling
  • WP10 - Theoretical Meteorology from the Weather to the Climate Scale
  • WP11 - Experimental Meteorology-Clouds, Aerosols, Gases
  • WP12 - Atmospheric Data Analysis Methods
  • WP13 - Current Research Topics in Theoretical Meteorology

In addition to these lectures can be attributed to the following 3ECTS elective modules ...

  • WP4 Atmospheric Observation Methods
  • WP5 Earth System Modelling
  • WP6 Components of the Climate System
  • WP7 Atmospheric Processes
  • WP8 Current Research Topics in Experimental Meteorology

You can find the attribution for all current lectures in the LSF, as well as for all past, current, and planned (upcoming semesters) here on the webpages of the Meteorology. For all questions please contact

Master thesis

The master thesis consists of a scientific research project with one of the research groups of the Meteorological Institute at LMU. There is no separate completion of modules P4, P5, P6 (Scientific Training, Scientific Work, Thesis) during the one year work on the project topic. External theses project without direct supervision by a member of the institute are possible, but an internal co-supervision by a member has to be agreed upon with the examination board of meteorology before the start.